Hoping to be human someday!

Interviewed At The Pakistani Spectator

Friday, December 12th, 2008

I was interviewed at Pak Spectator a few days ago.

Click here to see it.

BTW, Wordpress 2.7 is awe-bloody-some!

The Karachi Bloggers Meetup!

Monday, December 1st, 2008

Yes, there’s going to be a Karachi Bloggers meetup too!

From their registration page:

Event Website: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=38794231298

The idea is to encourage Internet users & bloggers to meet offline as well. Senior bloggers get a chance to share knowledge & experience. New wanna-be bloggers can learn from the local success stories and network with leaders & professionals in this field.

Date & Time: Saturday, Dec 06, 2008
Venue: TBA soon
Organizer: CIO Pakistan in association with Google Pakistan
Contact 1: Badar Khushnood ; +92.300.8486070 ; badar@google.com
Contact 2: Mehjabeen Sheikh ; +92.21.4255022 ; mehjabeen.shaikh@rasalagroup.org

Since we have limited seats, registration (FREE) in advance is mandatory.

Register here.

Indo-Pak Cyber War

Tuesday, November 25th, 2008

India – Pakistan in State of Cyber War

In response to an action by HMG, Indian script kiddie, who hacked OGRA’s website, A Pakistani Group called PCA (Pakistan Cyber Army) has reportedly hacked at least five Indian websites including http://www.ongcindia.com/ – Indian Oil and Natural Gas website.

Other websites which were hacked by Pakistanis include

http://www.syscontech.in/
http://www.iirs.gov.in/
http://www.ctram.indianrail.gov.in/
http://www.kvrtm.org.in/

I got a chance to speak with PCA, who confirmed that their group knew this web-server for last two years which is hosting most of Indian Government Websites, but they never hacked it, despite it was never a big deal for them. PCA was of the view that they are not criminals and bear no bad intentions for anyone, but they could not see Pakistani websites getting hacked by Indians; so they had to hack these Indian websites.

PCA left following message on http://www.ongcindia.com/

This is a message from PCA for HMG(script_kiddies) in return to the ogra defacement.
Backoff , go read some course books else you will loose both , your name and this game.
We will literally SMOKE YOUR DOORS OFF like other groups did before.
This is just a warning to Indian authorities either
to launch inquiry against HMG or get ready for more action.
We were sleeping but not Dead.
Now Face the consequences
HAroon + HAmza + ABunasar
Naveed + Hassan
Pakistan ZindaBad

PCA asked Indian authorities to take action against HMG (the group that hacked OGRA’s website). The most notable part of this defacement is

This is just a warning to Indian authorities either to launch inquiry against HMG or get ready for more action

As I mentioned in my previous post that OGRA’s website was hacked by a Indian Script kiddes, who was actually not aware of the consequences. But his little mistake may fan the fire of cyber war between India and Pakistan. Exactly the same was as it happened before; meaning that a little mistake is going to lead us to a situation which can damage both countries’ websites.

Previously, both countries remained in state of cyber war during 1997 to 2002. From Pakistan’s side the war was fought by Dr. Nuker, the founder of PHC “Pakistan Hackers Club” and MFRD, founder of G-force. These two groups were responsible for defacing hundreds of Indian websites, and broke all previous records of cyber war history. Both of the Pakistani Groups then settled issues with NEO, an Indian hacker to conclude that 5 years running Cyber war.

By Muhammad Ali Raza. © 2008 Pro PakistaniAll Rights Reserved

Shared by: Zeeshan

SAWJ’s Note: PCA’s stance is right but I hope this ends right here and doesn’t lead to “cyber tensions” between the two countries!

MSN Arabia Too?

Tuesday, November 18th, 2008

Whenever I sign out of Hotmail, it redirects me to MSN Arabia. If I find something worth reading, I open it in a new tab and then move on to MSN. It’s a habit.

Today I saw a story of Yahoo CEO Jerry Yang stepping down and opened it in a new tab. And guess what?

The page was marked as an attack site!

Guess I’m not the only guy getting spammed… :lol: